Building Your Own Portable Amp…

It’s Sunday again… <sigh> , time flies… another week has come and gone and we are now into the middle of the year. Keeping up with what is happening is indeed a very dynamic task. New products come around the corner every other day and before you know it another pops around. Oh well, that’s what life is all about.

OK, enough prattling… here’s something that may interest some of you out there… build your own portable amp. To make life simple, we are now providing registered members a DIY kit complete with all the bits and pieces, including the housing. All you need is to get a hold of some tools, such as… Soldering Iron, Screw Driver, patience & determination.

So what’s the cost of this kit… mmmm… well, be surprised… For a limited period, it is only S$36 for registered members. Well, members do have privileges. Is it as good as a Hornet… Nope!, but then again it is really quite good and what better opportunity to hone your skills for the future.

Step-By-Step instructions are provided and our moderator DIYman will be available to answer all your questions if you run into problems or if you need further help.

When is it available? … Watch this thread, OK OK… hint, sometime this week.

Some of the components in this kit:

diy_s.jpg

Not shown in the kit are the housing, faceplate, etc…

Watch this thread for updates…

Update 1: OK… most of the parts are in… You can start with what we have now

Update 2: How to register as a member… You will be able to register by the end of the day.

OT: Russman, guess what I had tonight… Tofu with Salted fish simmered in Olive oil + Garlic + Chilli… drool… slurp, slurp… burp!

~ by jaben on July 29, 2007.

35 Responses to “Building Your Own Portable Amp…”

  1. sweet! housing pics please – otherwise, hornet supremacy is enshrined.
    Do you have tube kits?

    Jaben: Housing pictures… 😦 , it won’t turn out well as it is black plastic. But for you… we will have a couple posted tomorrow…

  2. woo.. i borrowed alvin’s xtra x1… blowned away… i think im going nuts just listening to it. Sweet music.

    Jaben: There’s more to blow you away… come and try it… πŸ™‚

  3. Either they blow me away or blow a hole in my pocket and wallet… Hope to see you soon!

    Jaben: Both… 😦 & πŸ™‚

  4. Lol… Im too crazy about the amp… Totally sucked into it… Wished my samsung has line out to maximize the use. Do you do samsung k3 docks?

    Jaben: Not for the moment… why not get a You-Know-What?

  5. OOO add that to my list!

    So how do i pay you for my UE’s and XO? do i just put the description on the items i want?

    Jaben: I’ll email you…

  6. Hey Uncle Wilson, When will the Amps be there till? Cos I probably can’t do much till december. (No choice lah, A lvl year)

    And how tough is the assembly?

    Jaben: This week…, assembly is a piece of cake, even I can do it πŸ™‚ . For our foreign friends, “lah” is just an expression generally added to the end of a sentence. It’s colloquial and it is used in the oral language more then the written.

  7. wah.. this is interesting. got kit that is rechargeable too? πŸ™‚

    Jaben: Use a rechargeable battery… No?

  8. That is quite hard to me from the look of the picture 😦

    i prefer ready made one πŸ™‚

    Jaben: Well, we have many πŸ™‚

  9. But is it as cheap as $35 😦 ?

    Jaben: Hey we do treat our friends right… πŸ™‚

  10. how much would a prebuilt be?

    Jaben: There are no pre-built ones of this amp as this is written… the pre-built ones would be the others we carry. But, you should try and do one yourself, just for the fun of it. It really isn’t so difficult. I’m sure some of the guys out here will be happy to help you.

  11. Hmm…I guess I can try but I have never soldered before and need a soldering iron…

    Jaben: It’s a nice skill to master… you’ll use it someday for stitching wires and the likes of anything that requires this skill. It may not sound gentle, but “What have you got to lose?”

  12. I have got $36 to lose! Lol

    Anyway, I can’t buy it until I visit singapore in 2 weeks!

    Jaben: No worries, you know our mantra…

  13. but what if the mp3 player do not have line out?

    will headphone out be as effective to the amp?

    Jaben: Generally not… sometimes it works though…

  14. Hope you have not forgot to email me 😦

    Jaben: By the end of the day… sorry mate…

  15. Is that new, ” Mat (pecker) said this on Your comment is awaiting moderation. July 30th, 2007 at 6:35 am ” I have never noticed the awaiting moderation bit before?

    Or am a crazy lol ?!?

    Jaben: Nope… not crazy, I’ve been having a spate of spam lately and these are nasty ones, so we have to turn on the approval filters.

  16. Well you have soon removed the spam, I have never seen any!

    Ok thank you!

    Jaben: Yes, but it is hard work…

  17. Wow. I want to try one of these… Hard to find the PCB w/o importing..

    Jaben: Yes… everything is there… πŸ™‚

  18. How big is this size-wise and how good is it sound-wise?
    It sounds real fun to be able to build your own amp for us DIY noobs.

    jaben: Same size as the CR-2 Amp, soundwise… pretty darn good.

  19. Hey Uncle, I was more wondering when Jaben will be carrying the stock till? Any ideas?

    Jaben: We will have it for quite a while… but prices may go up in the future. We will try and hold them down.

  20. Oh I just noticed the op-amp is soldered on 😦
    It would have been better if it were socket based.

    Jaben: Wow, very observant… no problems, you can use a socket as well… happy now… πŸ™‚

  21. I wanted to make a CMOY. Got really cheap parts, but no opamp yet for soldering practice (“skills”, or whatever you call mine, are getting rusty).

    Will probably get this kit. I can then blackmail teachers when their laptop outputs are too weak for the speakers in class (leading to video clips not being heard properly). Just joking (to a certain extent :P)

  22. how do you be a member? will grab a kit from your shop soon~~ maybe will get a few friends down and solder it together..haha

    Jaben: Membership details to follow… watch this thread…

  23. I still have no idea what to get after you told me you-know-what.. hahaha.. lost totally

    Jaben: Apple iPod… πŸ™‚

  24. LOL! My K3 is rather new! Only a couple of months… Its kinda like my beloved already haha. Hopefully can see line out dock connector soon 😦 if not kinda sad man

  25. hehe i may not have a line-out on any of my product (except for my 5 yr old md player) but i tried amp through a phono and it still improved the sound… sooo maybe i could get this :D..

  26. Let me have my amp wilson pleassssssssssssssse (also my other products aswell of course!)

    There isnt enough line out docks for products imo

    Jaben: Okkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk… Mmmmm… line-out info huh… Ok, let me give it a thunk… you wanna help?

  27. You know i’m always happy to help!

    Now give me my products πŸ˜›

    Jaben: Ok, Ok… πŸ˜‰

  28. er Uncle Wilson this is Vicki,

    What sort of tools do I need to fix this portable amp up.

    Is it like those tamiya model kit cars?

    Looks very fun leh.

    Jaben: Hi Vicki, long time no see… Easier than Tamiya…

  29. errr Uncle wilson how do we become member O.o

    Jaben: Watch the thread…

  30. pictures of the housing please! πŸ™‚

  31. Looks very interesting…will see how to max this out….very simple kit should not take more than 1/2hr to complete…but sourcing for higher grade stuff and tinkering around will sure take more time. Time to have some fun….

  32. Hey Uncle Wilson, Sorry for the questions. One more (Hopefully last one), when are the OP-Amps coming in? And when you say it cost $36, including OP-Amp right?

    Jaben: Sometime during the week… Yes, everything except coffee… πŸ™‚

  33. Great. There will be an update on when the OP-Amps come in i suppose?

  34. Is the DIY package still available? I want to get one? How to register? Oh no I’m late 😦

    Jaben: Yes, so sorry for this late reply…

  35. whoa… i feel like i’m a year late…

    can i still get one? i need to construct an amp in a gift box for my electronics project.

    * Jaben: Yes, still available… visit http://www.Jaben.net/forums or email us, adelphi @ jaben.net

Leave a comment