The Lehmann Black Cube… is it good?

Folks… why speculate, come and try them. Bring your cans and let’s check it out.

linear_silver_01.jpg

~ by jaben on July 11, 2007.

9 Responses to “The Lehmann Black Cube… is it good?”

  1. you n ur “making people poor and happy plot”. sigh

  2. who says money cant buy you happiness…

    😀

    Jaben: Funny man ! You’re good…

  3. Oh man, I’ve been eyeing the Black Cube Linear for a while now. Unfortunately it costs over $1000 here in Finland (740 Euros, to be exact), so no Cube for me. Perhaps I need to buy headphones which don’t need an amp and keep myself distracted with those…

    Jaben: … I have this philosophy… a couple of visits to the pub actually costs more… buy one of these, stay at home and enjoy the music… you’lll still be ahead. I’ve got a question… do the Finns eat salted fish?

    Why not take part in the Headphone stand competition and win a nice headphone, then you can spend the rest on a Black Cube.

  4. Salted? If you mean raw spiced, then yes, we do. Fish preserves are customary around these parts, be they pickled or salt cured. Baltic herring is usually pickled while salmon is either smoked or salted. Quite tasty, altough I’m somewhat allergic to seafood and hence can’t eat them much.

    And about visiting pubs: I rarely do that, so skipping a few times isn’t that helpful in gathering money. Oh well, perhaps a tad cheaper amp will do if and when I need one. The PA2V2 is serving me well at the moment, since I’m mostly using IEMs anyway.

    Jaben: Tell me more about the salt-cured fish…

  5. Quite simple, actually. The amounts here work for one kilogram of fish. Take two fillets of salmon (or whitefish or whatever), sea salt and dill. Pat the fillet dry with a paper towel, rub suitable amounts of salt (about 4 tablespoons for two fillets), sugar (2 teaspoons) and ground peppers (white and black) on it, add a couple stems of dill, chopped up. Then wrap the whole package up in greaseproof paper and tinfoil and let it sit in a fridge for a day, compressed under a weight. Then just scrape the seasonings off and cut the fish into thin slices.

    If you want a more detailed recipe, google for “Freshly-salted salmon” or “gravlax”. The latter is actually the Swedish name for the dish.

    Actually I don’t think this is salt curing, per se, but the process is still quite similar. Anyway, the stuff is excellent with potatoes or rye bread.

    Jaben: OK, I’ll try when I get the time. BTW, I was in Finland a long time ago and I saw packets smoking chips… how do you use these things?

  6. yum yum.. another food recipe i sense.

    Jaben: Yesssssssss… salted-fish related…

  7. I don’t know anything about smoking. There are electric smokers available around here, and it seems there is a tray for the chips with a heating element underneath. Then you put the fish on a grating above and close the lid. If you’re just using a smoking box, you put the chips at the bottom and put the box on a grill or some other heater. Using too much chips makes the fish bitter, so I guess it takes some experience. I’m a city kid, so all I know is stuff I can google :).

    I poked around a bit, and there seems to be a tad more to the process than that, but sorry, I can’t really help.

    Jaben: 🙂 you could have fooled me…

  8. I’m great friends with Google and there seems to be a lot of pages about smoking fish. In Finnish, that is. It seems that Finnish people are still quite outdoorish and like to prepare traditional meals by themselves. Well, freshly smoked European perch is very good indeed, so I understand why someone would go through all the trouble.

    Jaben: Thank you for the snippets, it’s most enlightening. Just curious, is reindeer meat eaten by the average Finn?

  9. Sure it is. Different reindeer meat products are readily available around here (cold smoked, sautéed, even meatballs) as is raw reindeer meat. Sautéed reindeer and mashed potatoes is an excellent combination, quite often served with lingonberries. Actually that’s available as a microwaveable meal in practically every larger store.

    Jaben: Thanks… nice information.

Leave a Reply

 
