Tis a sad day… my friend Olivier Prechac

I’m not much into writing about my personal life or telling about myself. But it is a sad day for me and I want to use this blog to say what this friend means to me.

In the early days when all was quiet, on a Saturday, a funny yet distinguished looking frenchman in shorts and a backpack walked in and asked me about CD’s and what was good for music. The next thing I knew, all of us in the store was invited to his home for dinner and it became a weekly Friday evening chill-out day for us. It went on until May of ’06 as he had then decided to go home. Just before he left, he got married and I was his bestman.

We spoke over the phone a couple of times and the last was some 6 months ago… darn I wish I had called more often. Last night I called him and his wife picked up the phone. After the usual salutations and hi’s, I asked to speak with Olivier and that was when she said ” I was waiting for you to call…” and “Olivier passed away… he was killed in an accident…”

Frankly I don’t know how to come to terms with this… one moment he was here and I still remember him vividly, having fun with computers and listening to his fantastic audio setup and the next moment he is gone.

I’ve come to the conclusion that it is the ones that are still alive that grieve…

Nguoc Sang, if you are reading this… Thank you for the most wonderful time we had at your place.

Olivier gave me his Nakamichi Dragon, something I wanted for a very very long time… he just gave it to me!

Update, 10th June: Edmund, ‘Twas good, ze vine… sounds better pronounced in Cherman. If any of you out there are Germans, please don’t be offended… it’s meant to be humorous.

~ by jaben on May 28, 2007.

16 Responses to “Tis a sad day… my friend Olivier Prechac”

  1. So sorry to hear about this, Uncle. But rest assured that he is in a better place now 🙂

  2. My most solemn condolences to this dear friend of yours.

    Revelation 21:4
    And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things are passed away.

  3. My condolences to his family, even though i didn’t know him .
    May he rest in peace and be blessed with greater fortunes in his next life .

  4. My solemn condolences. My wife’s cousin (all of 31) passed away recently from a stroke. Never had an inkling it would happen.

    Life is so fragile. Take care uncle.

  5. My deepest condolences. May he rest in peace.

  6. Hi Wilson,
    I just thought of dropping by at your blog after a really bad day at work… I just read about your loss today and I am sorry and hope you would be well soon. I am not so seasoned in life experiences and have not been through any death events to know what words to say. It is a definite sad event for you but do take care.
    Regards

    Jaben: Thanks… yes he was really a good friend… he was a rather important person in his industry and he did not have a shred of self-importance. A really special person… I had a ride on his KTM on two ocassions… it was most terrifying… more like terri-flying.

  7. Only people who matter are missed by those left behind. Be thankful that you’ve been a blessing to each other and had the opportunity to be friends.
    Regards,

    Jaben: Thanks… 🙂

  8. When I see you next we will open a bottle of french wine and drink to your friend!
    Santé!
    Edmund

    Jaben: Hi Edmund, somehow your post got shuffled into the spam. I just saw it. And, yes… we shall do that… Merci.

  9. I’m not good at offering condolences or writing comforting words but I’d just like to say I’m sorry for your lost and of your friend’s family’s. Do take care, uncle.

    Jaben: Thanks, most appreciated

  10. Aww Uncle Wilson… *huggles* Remember the ones who left us, cherish the ones with us..

    Jaben: I will sweetie!!!

  11. I have an old friend… his name is Olivier Prechac. I
    have not been in touch with him for a while. The last
    email he sent me was from Singapore. When I stumbled
    upon your blog, I couldn’t breathe… is your friend
    Olivier the same guy that I know??? Please write to me.
    I will deeply appreciate if you can talk to me.
    Thank you.
    Sincerely,
    Lileen

    Jaben: Hi, I’ll write later… I am swamped with work. But if you like, you can call me at 6337-0809. I am amazed… it is such a small world. How did you find us?
    BTW, Olivier was Bank Indosuez… would this be the same Olivier?

  12. Hi, thanks for the prompt response. I am so very sad
    right now because it is the same Olivier. I am back in
    Vietnam right now (met him here 10 yrs ago). I’ll tell
    you more later. Would it be alright to ask for your email
    address? I think I’m in shock right now…. and I need to
    have a good cry.

    Jaben: Yes, this is the same Olivier… OK, I will email you. You could also email me… it’s adelphi@jaben.net

  13. Dear Jaben:

    I just stumbled on this blog, and I too am wondering whether this is my very old friend, Olivier Prechac, who had a brother named Yves. They lived in Versailles in the 1960’s and we were neighbors and great friends … I haven’t communicated with him or his brother in 40 years, but it would be incroyable if this were the same Olivier Prechac …. I am very sad for your loss….What country are you located in? Also, Yves and/or Olivier were very much into sports, especially ice hockey at the time…..Your prompt response would be so appreciated.

    Jaben: Hi Ss… , you got mail. And yes, this is the same Olivier… I’m from Singapore… more in the mail.

  14. Hi Uncle, I happen to know Olivier too, one of my dad’s friend, and yes i was, too, devestated when i heard the news

    Jaben: Sigh… Nice bloke wasn’t he… he’s really nice. Before all the crazy Fridays that we have these days… Friday nights was reserved for him. I would be there till the wee hours of the morning… we had so much fun… I showed him computing stuff and he showed me other stuff… music, his wired and wonderful collection of many strange things… yes… like all good things, they must pass someday.

  15. Olivier Prechac was am old friend from Boston University hockey. I thought of him this morning anf googled …only to learn that Olivier has passed away. Is this my old friend ?

    If so ……I’m saddened not to have reached out years ago. If this is not my old team mate , please accept my condolences for your loss.

    • Hi,

      My name is Wilson and that blog entry was written by me. I have sinced passed the blog to my Indonesian partner to maintain. As you will notice it is a headphone/earphone business that I am in.

      Olivier lived in Singapore for a while and I got to know him when he went to my store. We became good friends and every Friday evening was spent at his home where I thought him computing.

      Yes, it was sad.

      Rgds, Wilson

Leave a Reply

 
